Spiritual Montage

montage final

1.Description: Create a montage in Photoshop that can be used for a Christian organization.

2. Process (Programs, Tools, Skills, FOCUS principles): I used Photoshop to combine and edit all my images. I watched several tutorials to teach my how to use different effects and tools in Photoshop. I knew that I wanted some hierarchy in my text so I picked one text and made two important words larger and bolder. It also worked to align most of the text on the left and the right.

3. Critique Report: Sister Kunz and Sierra both suggested that I move the text up to the sky area. My instructor also said to try enlarging the book image and blending it even more. Sydney said a typewriter font would look great, since I added the typewriter image. I did that, and shrunk the text like she and Sister Kunz directed and it made that corner of the piece have some good breathing room.

I helped Natalie with some text placement and Sierra with some places that might need more blending.
4. Message: God’s story is our story. His main purpose is our immortality and eternal life.
5. Audience: Instructor, classmates, those who could be uplifted by this spiritual message.
6. Top Thing Learned: I learned how to do a lot of new effect in Photoshop. I learned how to find the text tools to change kearning and paragraph layout. 
7. Color scheme and color names: Complementary–Blue and Orange
8. Title Font Name & Category: Neue Haas Grotesk Heavy, sans serif
9. Copy Font Name & Category: Tox Typewriter, serif
10. Thumbnails of any original, unedited image used in the project:
11. Source of each image (website name and hyper link):

Source links

book: http://missionhome.com/?p=1984

sky: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Crepuscular_rays

typewriter: https://munchkinwrangler.wordpress.com/2011/03/26/typewriter-heaven-right-down-in-boston/

montage with layers screenshot
11. Steps of Photoshop process

resize sky // adjust levels and vibrance, move hue a little towards blue and mask off the sky // texturize filter and removed from sky //

lasso book with 50px feather // place on sky and make smaller // mask 20% over whole book, 70% and dissolve mode over edges

lasso typewriter with 70px feather // place on sky, size and rotate // mask layer with 70% edge and 30% over the whole image // add hard light with opacity 80% // blur 20% lines on book

add text // arrange in top left area of sky // main text is Tox Typwriter and the bold text is Neue Haas Grotesk heavy

dodge background under text to lighten it and make the text stand out more

2 thoughts on “Spiritual Montage

  1. I think you did a great job on this! You made good use of the font by emphasizing “God’s story” which reaffirms the message that, even though the story of our lives are about us, Heavenly Father is still an integral part of it. I also love the adjustments you made to the sunset image. The colors were already beautiful but you made them even more vibrant and stand. You did an awesome job with this project, I love how it turned out!

    Here’s my blog: https://agnielson.wordpress.com
    And here’s Natalie Brito’s: https://howtogrowafamilytree.wordpress.com/category/design/

    Like

  2. This is stunning! I think it looks amazing. I love the images you used to create your finished project. I think your montage corresponds with your quote perfectly. I love your font you chose because it goes perfectly with your message and the typewriter. Super creative. Awesome job!

    Check out my montage and tell me what you think! 🙂
    https://kailiorch.wordpress.com/2016/05/26/montage/

    Check out Erika’s blog too!
    https://erikacardonblog.wordpress.com/category/comm-130/design/

    Like

Leave a Reply

